Home / Guides / Blinds100 vs Pottery Barn shades

A close manual example with different responsibility

Blinds100 vs Pottery Barn Custom Shades: DIY Product or Full Service

A checked 48 by 48 Pottery Barn manual light-filtering roller cost only $40 less than the comparable Blinds100 manual planning price, but the service scope was different. This makes a stronger example than comparing unrelated starting prices.

Independent Blinds100 comparison. No affiliation. Prices and policies change. Sources checked August 29, 2026.
Homeowner carefully self-measuring a window beside a boxed manual roller shade
Illustration. Confirm products from samples and the order.

The product numbers are close; responsibility is not

Pottery Barn supplies a custom manual shade and hardware under homeowner measurement instructions. Blinds100 supplies a locally measured and installed manual or motorized solution.

Comparison questionWhy it changes the decision
Product example48 by 48 inch manual light-filtering roller listed at $409.
MeasurementHomeowner measurement instructions are provided.
InstallationHardware is included; professional installation is not stated in the product price.
OperationThe reviewed roller is manual and cordless.
Comparison limitMaterials and construction are not identical across brands.
Professional installer measures and completes a light-filtering roller shade installation
Illustration. Confirm products from samples and the order.

The 48 by 48 example creates a useful real comparison

The reviewed Pottery Barn manual light-filtering roller was listed at $409 for 48 by 48 inches.

The checked Blinds100 manual light-filtering roller at that size plans at $449 before tax, with local measurement and installation.

Blinds100 and Pottery Barn custom roller shades is not only a product decision. It assigns responsibility for measurement, compatibility, installation, testing, and support. One accurate line item can still leave work or cost that another quote includes.

Put this in writing

Preserve the date, size, operation, and service difference beside both numbers.

Limit of the comparison: The products and fabrics are not identical.

The Pottery Barn product assigns measurement to the homeowner

Its page explains inside and outside measurement and emphasizes critical fit decisions.

That model can suit a careful buyer who wants direct product purchase and is comfortable owning dimensions.

Keep the answer with the opening record. Compare the same window, operating method, and finished responsibility so pottery barn shade comparison does not become a contest between numbers describing different jobs.

Put this in writing

Follow the seller measurement rules exactly and keep the measurements.

Limit of the comparison: A general tape-measure method is not a substitute for product instructions.

Included hardware does not mean included installation

The product page states that installation hardware is included.

The homeowner still owns mounting, leveling, field conditions, and final testing unless separate service is arranged.

Put this in writing

List tools, installer, surface conditions, and completion responsibility.

Limit of the comparison: Local optional services may change, so confirm current availability.

The reviewed roller is manual cordless

The page describes a concealed handle for raising and lowering the shade.

It should be compared with a manual installed shade first, then motorized value can be shown as a separate option.

Project continuity matters in pottery barn shade comparison. When seller, measurer, installer, and service contact have different duties, the order should identify who owns the next step.

Put this in writing

Do not place its manual product price beside a motorized installed price without a label.

Limit of the comparison: The finding applies to the reviewed product page.

The size table shows meaningful price steps

The same product changes price as width and length selections change.

A single starting number should not be carried into a larger opening.

Put this in writing

Use the exact current size selection for every comparison.

Limit of the comparison: Custom choices and availability can change.

DIY product value and full-service value answer different buyers

A design-retail product can be attractive when the homeowner wants the listed style and accepts measurement and installation.

Full service adds local responsibility and can reduce handoffs for a custom home.

Put this in writing

Choose the responsibility model before comparing price.

Limit of the comparison: Neither model guarantees the best fabric for every room.

Custom measurement risk should be understood before ordering

A product made to selected dimensions can be difficult to reuse if the opening or mount choice is wrong.

The buyer should read cancellation, return, and remake terms before purchase.

Put this in writing

Keep the approved dimensions and photos of the opening.

Limit of the comparison: Current retailer policies control the actual order.

How this comparison was built

This guide uses the public pages listed below, checked on August 29, 2026, with the current Blinds100 scope. Official product, price, warranty, installation, and support pages receive the most weight. Reviews identify questions to ask, not a company-wide failure rate.

Custom quotes change with size, fabric, controls, power, installation, promotions, and tax. Starting prices remain labeled as starting prices, and quote-only items remain unpriced. Compare each opening by product purpose, dimensions, material, control, power, installation, setup, accessories, warranty, service owner, and final pre-tax total.

When a public page does not answer a scope question, this guide treats the item as unconfirmed instead of guessing. Homeowners should carry that question into the consultation and keep the answer with the proposal. The dated source list also makes later rechecking possible when a promotion, product line, compatibility statement, or warranty changes. A current written proposal remains the controlling evidence for the actual project. It should preserve any special condition, discount, exclusion, or responsibility discussed during measurement.

A fair 48 by 48 manual comparison

Use the same size and operation, then state the service difference clearly.

The Pottery Barn page listed the reviewed 48 by 48 manual light-filtering roller at $409. The current Blinds100 manual light-filtering roller plan for 48 by 48 is $449 before tax, including local measurement and installation.

That $40 difference is informative, but it does not prove equal fabric, construction, warranty, or style. A buyer may prefer the Pottery Barn product and handle installation. Another may prefer one local party to confirm fit and complete the work.

Motorization should be a second comparison. The current Blinds100 motorized plan for the same size is $549 before tax with standard motorization and installed scope.

What Blinds100 means by an installed starting price

Published starting prices include measurement, custom manufacturing, installation, standard controls, compatible smart setup, needed solution accessories, testing, and a 5-year local warranty.

Size, premium materials or motors, electrical work, specialty access, unusual mounting, LED systems, and special options can change the written price.

Questions to settle before approval

Keep the current answer with the exact opening and proposal.

Inside or outside mount

Record the answer by opening, name the responsible party, and confirm whether the final total includes it.

Width at required points

Record the answer by opening, name the responsible party, and confirm whether the final total includes it.

Height at required points

Record the answer by opening, name the responsible party, and confirm whether the final total includes it.

Rounding instruction

Record the answer by opening, name the responsible party, and confirm whether the final total includes it.

Selected length

Record the answer by opening, name the responsible party, and confirm whether the final total includes it.

Fabric and color

Record the answer by opening, name the responsible party, and confirm whether the final total includes it.

Hardware supplied

Record the answer by opening, name the responsible party, and confirm whether the final total includes it.

Installer responsibility

Record the answer by opening, name the responsible party, and confirm whether the final total includes it.

Remake policy

Record the answer by opening, name the responsible party, and confirm whether the final total includes it.

Final delivered total

Record the answer by opening, name the responsible party, and confirm whether the final total includes it.

Frequently asked questions

Direct answers to the questions homeowners usually ask after the first quote.

Was the Pottery Barn 48 by 48 shade really $409?

Yes on the public page checked August 29, 2026. Confirm the current size, color, and price before purchase.

Does Pottery Barn include installation?

The reviewed product states that installation hardware is included and gives homeowner measurement instructions. It does not state that professional installation is included in the listed product price.

Is the Blinds100 manual price $449 at 48 by 48?

That is the current planner result before tax for the standard light-filtering manual roller at that size, subject to exact measurement and written scope.

Are the two shades identical?

No. The page uses a matched size and product purpose, not a claim of identical material or construction.

Can I motorize the reviewed Pottery Barn roller?

The reviewed page presented a manual cordless product. Confirm other current products directly with the retailer.

Who should choose DIY?

A careful homeowner who accepts measurement and installation responsibility and prefers the selected retailer product may find it suitable.

Sources checked

Open the original pages and confirm the current terms before relying on a time-sensitive price or promotion.

Your actual windows decide the final answer

Build the room plan, then compare complete responsibility.

Use the planner for a starting number or book a free in-home measurement for an opening-by-opening written scope.